Nigerian Governors Names: List Of Their States & Deputies

nigerian governors list

Note: this list is outdated, for Updated list, visit Current Nigerian Governors and their phone nos

Nov 8, 2012 – Nigerian Governors Names: List Of All Nigerian Governors ,Their States & Deputies

Nigerian governors 2012: Lists & names of all current Nigerian governors

There are presently 36 Nigerian governors running the affairs of the 36 states of the Nigerian federation. The present 36 governors are presently serving different terms of services, while most are serving their second term of 8 years, others are either serving their first terms of 4 years or are half way into the first tenure as governors, the reasons are not far from the several legal tussles that characterizes many of the elections held in the country. The last elections held in the year 2011 will see most of the present governors vacating their posts in 2015 or seek re-election for another term of 4 years.

List & Names Of All Nigerian Governors By State & Political Party

Here it he name of all current Nigerian Governors and their states

The lists of Nigerian Governors state by Political parties are ;

  • Adamawa {PDP}
  • Abia {PDP}
  • Akwa Ibom {PDP}
  • Anambra{APGA}
  • Bauchi {PDP}
  • Bayelsa{PDP}
  • Benue {PDP}
  • Borno{ANPP}
  • Cross River {PDP}
  • Delta {PDP}
  • Ebonyi[PDP}
  • Edo{ACN}
  • Ekiti[ACN}
  • Enugu{PDP}
  • Gombe{ PDP}
  • Imo{APGA}
  • Jigawa[PDP}
  • Kaduna{PDP}
  • Kano {PDP}
  • Katsina{PDP}
  • Kebbi{PDP}
  • Kogi[PDP}
  • Kwara{PDP}
  • Lagos {ACN}
  • Nassarawa [CPC}
  • Niger{PDP}
  • Ogun{ACN}
  • Ondo{LP}
  • Osun{ ACN}
  • Oyo {ACN}
  • Plateau[PDP}
  • Rivers[PDP}
  • Sokoto{PDP}
  • Taraba [PDP}
  • Yobe [ANPP}
  • Zamfara {ANPP}.

The federal capital territory Abuja which also doubles as the seat of the Federal government of Nigeria is not governed by a governor but the minister of the Federal capital territory, this position is a political appointee made available by the president of the federal republic of Nigeria.

Names of Nigerian governors and their states

The names of Nigerian governors by state are as follows;

  • Theordor Orji of Abia state
  • Murtala Nyako of Adamawa state
  • Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State
  • Peter Obi of Anambra state
  • Isa Yuguda of Bauchi state
  • Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa state
  • Gabriel Suswan of Benue state
  • Kashim Shettima of Borno state
  • Liyel Imoke of Cross rivers state
  • Emmanuel Uduagan of Delta state
  • Martin Elechi of Ebonyi state
  • Adams Oshiomole of Edo state
  • Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti state
  • Sullivan Chime of Enugu state
  • Ibrahim Hassan Dakwambo of Gombe state
  • Rochas Okorocha of Imo state
  • Sule Lamido of Jigawa state.

Other lists of Nigerian governors include;

  • Patrick Ibrahim Yakowa of Kaduna state
  • Rabiu Kwakwanso of Kano state
  • Ibrahim Shema of Katsina
  • Usman Dakingari Saidu Nasamu of Kebbi state
  • Ibrahim Idris of Kogi state
  • Abdul Fatah of Kwara state
  • Babatunde Fashola of Lagos state
  • Umaru Tanko of Nassarawa state
  • Babangida Aliyu of Niger state
  • Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state
  • Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo state
  • Rauf Aregbesola of Osun state
  • Isiaka Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state
  • Jonah Jang of Plateau state
  • Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers state
  • Aliyu Wamako of Sokoto state
  • Danbaba Suntai of Taraba state
  • Ibrahim Geidam of Yobe state
  • Abubakar Yari of Zamfara state.

The lists of Nigerian governors that were re- elected in 2011 are;

  • Ibrahim Geidam
  • Danbaba Suntai
  • Babangida Aliyu
  • Ibrahim Shema
  • Babangida Aliyu
  • Rabiu Kwakwanso
  • Martin Elechi
  • Emmanuel Uduaghan
  • Gabriel Suswan
  • Godswill Akpabio and Theordor Orji. Other governors are either serving their first term of 4 years in office and some were installed as a result of court rulings.