Osun High Court Restricts Arrest Of APC Leaders; Ife Judge Places Ban On Police


osun state arrest apc leaders

August 8, 2014 – Osun High Court Restricts Arrest Of APC Leaders; Ife Judge Bans Police From Intimidating APC Members

What happened in Ekiti state has become an eye opener for APC members in Osun state.

Ahead of the upcoming August 9 gubernatorial election, APC leaders in the state have filed a lawsuit against Jonathan over the planned arrest and intimidation of all APC leaders across the state.

An Osun State High Court sitting in Ile-Ife has restrained security operatives in the country from arresting and witch-hunting leaders of the All Progressive Congress in the state.

Justice A. Abdulkareem while granting the application of the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in suit number HIF/M.32/2014 against the inspector General of Police, Assistant Inspector General zone XI, Director General of DSS, the Commissioner of Police Osun State Command and the Peoples Democratic Party in the state, affirmed that there is urgent need to grant the prayer of the applicants, having carefully examined the evidence attached to the application.

The judge disclosed that any delay in granting the said application would amount to injustice or defeat of justice.

The respondents, according to the ruling, are restricted against arresting, threatening or intimidating the following persons; Senator Isiaka Adeleke, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti, Mr Gbenga Adebusuyi, Barrister Wale Afolabi, Mr Sunday Akere, Dr. Wale Bolorunduro and Senator Bayo Salami.

Among those restricted from being arrested are federal lawmakers from the state among whom are; Senator Babajide Omoworare, Senator (Professor) Olusola Adeyeye, Senator Mudasiru Hussein, Honourables Rotimi Makinde, Adetunji Ajagbe, Lasun Yusuf, Kayode Salami, Barrister Waliu Salimoni, Dr. Joel Olasunkanmi Anwo and Senator Felix Ogunwale.

Also on the list are Mr. Kunle Ige, Barrister Ajibola Basiru, Barrister Kolapo Alimi, Alhaji Fatai Diekola, Mr. Adekunle Amos, Mr. Layiwola Oyeduntan, Mr. Bisi Odewumi, Engineer Oladepo Amudah, Mr. Muyiwa Ige, Prince Gboyega Famodun, Barrister Jimoh Akano, Mr. Kunle Oyatomi and the APC state chairman, Elder Adelowo Adebiyi.

Others are; Mr. Sikiru Ayedun, Mr. Mudashiru Toogun, Comrade Biyi Odunlade, Mr. Segun Omoworare, Mr Festus Agunbiade, Mr. Bosun Oyintiloye, Otunba Jumoke Ogunkeyede, Alhaji Tijani Oladosu, Mrs Tawa Williams, Mr. Sola Oladepo and Barrister T.S. Adegboyega.

The above persons sued the respondents on behalf of themselves and other leaders of the party in the state and sought the order of the court restraining the respondent or its representatives or agents from inviting or threatening them pending the conduct of Saturday gubernatorial poll in the state.

[Reported By Simon Ateba, PM News]