Connect with us – Proudly Nigerian DIY Motivation & Information Blog

News in Nigerian Newspapers Today

Nigeria Supreme Court Sacks Five Governors

supreme court of nigeria fires five governors

Jan 27, 2012 – Nigeria Supreme Court Sacks Five Governors

The Nigeria Supreme Court on Friday Jan 27, 2012 sacked 5 state governors for over-staying their positions in a move that has added to confusion in a nation reeling under security woes.

The ruling, which overturns a decision by a lower court, affects governors from President Goodluck Jonathan’s ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who took office in May 2007.

Five governors won re-run elections a year after their initial victories in the 2007 polls were annulled because of irregularities.

A high court ruled in January last year that they had to start a fresh term, but supreme court Judge Walter Onnoghen said on Friday that their tenure started the day they were first sworn into office.

“To allow the governors seeking tenure elongation will allow a culture of impunity in the system,” he said.

The affected states are Adamawa, Bayelsa, Cross River, Kogi and Sokoto.

Governorship elections are to be held in four of the affected states next month, while a new governor was elected in Kogi state in a December vote, although he has yet to be sworn in.

“No person can remain in office more than the four years provided for by the constitution,” said the ruling by the country’s top court.



  1. Lexzo

    January 27, 2012 at 7:14 PM

    De supreme court judgement z d best cuz at first i said it,hav neva hrd of a situation wer govz dat went 2 court 4 deir own tenure intrest,and rit in office,after cuming bak 2 tell us dat dy did nt complete deir tenure on sit dat dy wer busy abt election tribunal, wen we all knw dat dey wer in office during d tribunal tingz,i wonda who gave dm such flismsy ideal, abeg dy shud run dier electionz out of sit.

  2. Yunusa rabi

    January 28, 2012 at 3:29 PM

    Dat is a very wonderful job. I tink naija is moving forword indeed.

  3. Philips Adebayo Jolaoye

    January 29, 2012 at 2:35 AM

    I hail the supreme curt judgement. The time has come in Nigeria for true justice to reign. Some priviledged few can not just hold the people to ransome because of their greed.

  4. emma

    January 29, 2012 at 8:37 AM

    Naija is in confusion,these men won a re run election how can a supreme court judge say dat there tenure started on the day they were first sworn?forgeting that the swearing in was cancelled out by re run elections. When are we going to wake up in this country?

  5. melvin

    June 28, 2012 at 8:16 AM

    Am sure d judges wud b in hot soup wif dat judgment dey made

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in News in Nigerian Newspapers Today




To Top